April’s Favorite Reads

Fiction

The Rose House by Tina Ann Forkner
I signed up to be an influencer for this book and got a copy a few weeks before the release date and read it within a few days. I love it! It’s a great story about redemption and hope in difficult times. It’s kinda -sorta -not really a sequel to the author’s first book Ruby Among Us. I didn’t read “Ruby” – so its definitely not imperative to read them as a series! I’ll be writing a review on my other site… so visit over there → in a bit!

Middlemarch by George Eliot
I am a self proclaimed Jane Austen addict, and yet George Eliot comes pretty close in the literary world as my favorite author. This is the first book I have read by Eliot,  I’m possibly going to read all of her novels for my summer/before B’day author. ( I’ll explain what i mean later) She has all the wit and subtle humor of Austen but also manages to combine that with the severe honesty (and near depression) of The Brontë sisters’ works. (George is her pen name, Mary Ann was her given name just to clear up the inconsistencies. :))

Non-Fiction

Dangerous Surrender by Kay Warren
I would probably never have picked up this book based on the cover. Which is very sad, it’s an amazing book, and i would have missed out on it just based on my prejudgement.  My mom suggested this book to me since it is about a cause my eyes have been opened to over the past couple of months. (Particulary through Mocha Club) Kay Warren is a passionate advocate for the awareness of HIV/AIDs. I was completely “disturbed” by this book(that word is important to the book, read it and see!)

Red Letters by Tom Davis
 Another AMAZING book on the issue of AIDS, particularly in Africa. If this is an unnecessary evil that tugs on your heart, I recommend this book immensely. There are amazing stories of hope in the face of such heartbreak.

The Hole in our Gospel by Richard Stearns
This was a Thomas Nelson review book, I’ll link my review back here and you can read my thoughts on it there 🙂 http://reviewsbysarahkatie.wordpress.com/2009/04/23/the-hole-in-our-gospel/

That’s all for this month! You can ALWAYS ask me about a book that intrigues you 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under books, Books of the Month

One response to “April’s Favorite Reads

  1. Hi….I’m pleased you read my book IN SPITE OF the cover! That comment made me laugh! Publishers always think books will sell better if the author’s face is on the cover…..authors don’t always agree. 🙂 More importantly, I’m glad you’re a part of the Seriously Disturbed and Gloriously Ruined Club…..God bless you…

Leave a Reply

