Welcome Michelle Sutton

DatDCoverArt72dpiWelcome to Jane Austen, Chai Tea & me!
you are the very first author i have ever interviewed here!

Tell us about your latest release,  Danger at the Door.

Danger at the Door is a romantic suspense title that is more romantic than suspenseful, but still has enough tension from the stalker so you will worried for her well-being. The hero, Bojan, has only learned to speak English in the past few years and he doesn’t understand American slang and common idioms, so when someone says something like “get out of town” he would think they wanted him to get away from them. It’s quite hilarious, actually. He speaks Macedonian and Greek. Both have strange letters, making translation even more challenging.

The heroine, Laney, is grieving the loss of her future marriage but knows she needs to move on and tries to do this with a special dinner at home that the hero delivers. Only the order is totally messed up. Nevertheless she strikes up a friendship with the man who has the heavy accent. But one thing after another goes wrong in her life. She also feels like someone is watching her (they are) and thinks she is just being paranoid (she isn’t.) Because she had become a recluse over the past year, the heroine’s only friend is her Chihuahua named Baby. She must learn to overcome her fears in order to heal.

Now here is the official description posted on the Desert Breeze website.

AVAILABLE AUGUST 1, 2009 (can be purchased for $5.99 on Amazon, Desert Breeze, and various e-book sales sites)

Upon her fiancé’s death, Laney became a recluse who only left her home for emergencies. She managed to survive – barely – on food delivery service and her work-at-home job. When she tries to move on from her grief, the commemorative meal she orders is ruined. However, it leads to an unlikely friendship with an attractive man, Bojan, who speaks little English.

As he befriends Laney he continually says the wrong things, but he doesn’t give up trying to win her trust. Meanwhile, she has this strange feeling of being watched and wonders if she’s losing her mind.

Complicating things further, every time she leaves her house something bad happens, confirming that she is safer at home. Can Bojan convince Laney she’ll be safe with him, or will his presence put her in further danger? Will he be able to protect the woman he loves before it’s too late?

Based on your blog you’re a HUGE reader. What are some of the books that have made the most impact on you as a writer?

Anything that makes me cry when I read it or that I obsess over after I’ve finished the book. For me, that’s a good story! I read nearly 100 books a year so picking a few out is difficult. My goal is the make the reader feel strongly about something in my stories because that is what I truly enjoy myself.

Do you plan and plot out your books, or do you go with wherever the characters seem to want to go?

My characters tell me what is going on with them as I write their story down. It all happens naturally, but in a structured manner as the story comes out of me. As long as the tension builds and the chapters are interesting it carries the story through. Making things get continually worse for them definitely helps. Of course, I always have a basic sketch in my mind and I know the ending before I start writing, but the details are all surprises for me.

You are one busy lady! Tell us all the places we can find you online.

That’s a good one. I don’t even remember all of the sites myself. Um, I have accounts/pages on Shoutlife, Twitter, Facebook, MSN Spaces, Hi5, Xianz, Goodreads, Shelfari, and Librarything. I also have accounts that I don’t go to anymore like Yahoo, Cafe Mom, etc.

So, when you’re not reading, writing or keeping up with your social sites, what are your favorite things to do?

MichelleChurchI enjoy hanging out with my family, going to our new church, talking walks, enjoying nature, and singing. We changed churches after this picture was taken. We’d been at the previous church nearly 8 years–but things got complicated so we felt God calling us elsewhere. Here is a picture of me singing with my son on my former worship team. I’m the blonde with the microphone and he is the tall guy standing next to me under the cross.

I know that you love music, were there any artists you listened to while writing Danger at the Door?

Actually, yes. I wrote the book four years ago but remembered listening to TFK – Thousand Foot Krutch a lot (Slow Bleed in particular) and some stuff by Paul Wright. I tend to like the hard, crunchy alternative rock sound in music.

LOVE Paul Wright, he was so good in Hero: The Rock Opera!

Who are your role models in the Christian Fiction world?

Here are a few I listed on Goodreads.

Francine Rivers, Cynthia Rutledge, Siri Mitchell, Trish Perry, J. M. Hochstetler, Kathi Macias, Marylu Tyndall, Julie Lessman, Robin Lee Hatcher, Mary DeMuth, Kristin Billerbeck, Melody Carlson, Victoria Christopher Murray, Tricia Goyer, Karen Kingsbury, Lisa Samson

Tell us a little bit about your publishing house for Danger at the Door.

Desert Breeze Publishing was started by an editor who wanted people to feel safe going to sites to purchase e-books as many of the present sites are filled with erotica titles. Desert Breeze does sell some sizzling stuff, but erotica is not something they write, promote, or sell. They also don’t mind a lot of yummy stuff in the romantic content of their inspirational titles, so things can be hotter than just a “little bit sweet”. Anyone who reads my stories knows that my characters do the right thing and don’t promote sinful situations. They are just realistically tempted. I enjoy writing that way and reading the same types of stories. Oh, and they can also be as Christian as I want them to be. I love that about both of my publishing houses.

That is great, and totally needed!

FUN questions time!

You’re at your favorite local coffeeshop! What are you going to order?

Peppermint Mocha Frappucino (or it’s equivalent if I’m not at Starbucks).

Sushi or Hamburgers?

Hamburgers (prefer turkey burgers or salmon patties).

Soda or Iced Tea?

Iced tea. Sweetened or unsweetened. I like both, but prefer herbal teas.

Favorite Place?

Anywhere that I can plop down and read a great book. Camping in the mountains and reading as a cool breeze ruffles through my hair is next to heaven.

AMEN!

Have you read or seen any of Jane Austen’s Works?

Nope. I’ve tried. That style of writing is hard for me. The closest I’ve gotten is by reading Linore’s first book. I hear it’s very similar in style. I have watched Sense and Sensibility several times, though. It’s the one with Kate Blanchett in it.

Thanks Michelle! We’ll see you again when It’s Not About Him releases!

Awesome! Thanks!

If you’d like to win a copy of Michelle’s NEXT book, It’s Not About Him head on over here: http://lynnrush.wordpress.com/2009/08/01/win-michelle-suttons-latest-book/

Be sure to let them know that Rebornbutterfly set you!

2 Comments

Filed under Blog Tours

2 responses to “Welcome Michelle Sutton

  1. Thanks for the interview! My book releases today and it can now be ordered on Amazon and on a variety of other e-book sites. Yipee!

  2. Edna Tollison

    I would love to win one of Michelle’s books, I just love to read anything that is Christian fiction, historical, mystery, compentary, anything, I am a reader adict, lol, but I don’t just read them and pass them on I hold on to them and re-read them over and over. I am retired and semi-disables as I can’t do a lot of standing and walking so I play on the computer and read.
    May God bless

    mamat2730(at)charter(dot)net

Leave a Reply

