My Favorite Hummus Recipe

I LOVE mediterranean and middle eastern food, love it! It’s so amazing and full of flavor. One of my favorite things is Hummus, if you’re not sure what that is, or you think that it was something you learned in 7th biology, here’s my explanation:

Hummus is a bean dip made out of chickpeas (or garbanzo beans, they’re the same thing) Traditionally the ingredients are garlic, EVOO, lemon juice and a sesame seed paste called tahini. I love eating it in restaurants, but when i made it, there was something that was a little off for my tastes.  I’ve come to the conclusion that I don’t like the taste of Tahini, so after a little bit of tinkering with the ingredients I came up with this recipe.

Hummus is one of those dishes that can be made more appropriate to your liking, if you are not that crazy about one of the tastes, take it out and try something else in place of it.

Here it is!

Can of Chickpeas (garbanzo beans)
EVOO(Extra Virgin Olive Oil, MUST be olive oil, if you don’t have extra virgin just use your darkest olive oil)
Plain Yogurt
Lemon juice
White vinegar
1-2 cloves garlic (optional)

just before serving
EVOO
Paprika

Drain the chickpeas, you can also reserve some of the liquid if you’d like.  I like to peel the outer skin off, after they’re drained,  but it’s not required.
Transfer chickpeas to blender or food processor. Blend with a tablespoon or so of EVOO, until chickpeas are slightly mashed.
Add more Olive oil (1 T) and a splash of vinegar, 1/4 T to 1/2 T, Splash of lemon juice 1/4 T to 1/2 T. Blend again until liquids are mixed.
Add yogurt to taste, i find that 2-3 spoonfuls work well for my tastes. Blend, adding more EVOO if necessary.
Add garlic, 1 large clove or 2 smaller cloves will do the job. BTW you can skip this step if you’re not a fan of garlic.

That’s all there is to it! Serve with some paprika and a bit of EVOO drizzled on top. My favorite dippers are carrots, a traditional bread called Nan, and corn chips.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “My Favorite Hummus Recipe

  1. Lainee

    yum… my mouth is watering and I really really want some hummus now… 🙂

Leave a Reply

