Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen Insight Edt.

Sense and Sensibility is probably my least favorite Jane Austen novel, and I’ve read them all. It never captured me like Pride & Prejudice’s Darcy & Elizabeth’s love story or even the impetuous Emma’s mistaken matchmaking. But with Bethany House’s new Insight Edition, Sense and Sensibility’s long-lasting effect on culture finally, well, made Sense to me. I enjoyed it this time around, and this will certainly not be my last time to read this beloved classic.

This new edition doesn’t mess with the original text of S&S – at all! Quite the opposite – it enhances the reader’s experience.
The Editors point out little quirks and interesting facts found within the text, which had those notes not been there I would have missed it entirely!
Other footnotes are witty, knowledgeable and even have some fun tidbits about the movie variations.

I definitely enjoyed Sense and sensibility more the second time around thanks much in part to this insight edition! There are limitless editions of Sense and Sensibility available, but this one is by FAR my favorite.

Thanks to Bethany House for providing this book for me to review!
I definitely enjoyed Sense and sensibility more the second time around thanks much in part to this insight edition!

1 Comment

Filed under books, Review

One response to “Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen Insight Edt.

  1. This sounds like a really interesting edition. Sometimes, especially when we read older literature, it takes work to understand it. Age and experience make a difference as well. There are books I liked much better when I read them in college than I did in high school. I’m not sure if I would have cared for Sense and Sensibility much in high school, but I certainly enjoy it now. I got through lots of Shakespeare by reading annotated versions. We had books that did just what you said: they gave cultural notes and explained some vocabulary that we don’t use any more.

Leave a Reply

