The Summer of Comedy, History, Tragedy, and… Sonnets?

For the past couple of summers, I have challenged myself to read a famous author’s entire known work,before my birthday. So far, I have succeeded in reading all of Charles Dickens, Jane Austen, The Bronte Sisters, and Elizabeth Gaskell.

This year, I have not only gotten a later start (I only have three weeks left until my birthday) I have chosen one of the most difficult English writers yet… William Shakespeare.

12 Volumes!

This is the Collection I’m going to be reading! Each of the books are only about 4×3 inches, they’re tiny!

Here’s my checklist of what i’m going to be reading in the next three weeks:

Volume I
√Tempest
√Two Gentlemen of Verona
√Merry Wives of Windsor
√Measure for Measure

Volume II
√Comedy of Errors
√Much Ado About Nothing
√Love’s Labour’s Lost
√Midsummer-Night’s Dream

Volume III
√Merchant of Venice
√As You Like It
√Taming of the Shrew
√All’s Well That Ends Well

Volume IV
√Twelfth-Night
√Winter’s Tale
√Pericles

Volume V
√King John
√Richard II
√Henry IV, Part I

Volume VI
√Henry IV, Part II
√Henry V
√Henry VI Part I

Volume VII
√Henry VI Part II
√Henry VI Part III
√Richard III

Volume VIII
√Henry VII
√Troilus and Cressida
√Coriolanus

Volume IX
√Titus Andronicus
√Romeo and Juliet
√Timon of Athens
√Julius Caesar

Volume X
√Macbeth
√Hamlet
√King Lear

Volume XI
√Othello
√Anthony and Cleopatra
√Cymbeline

Volume XII
(Poems and Sonnets)
√Venus and Adonis
√The Rape of Lucrece
√Sonnets
√A Lover’s Complaint
√The Passionate Pilgrim
√Sonnets to Sundry Notes of Music
√The Phoenix and the Turtle

Extra!
The Two Noble Kinsmen

So there you have it. I need to read about 12 of the plays per week for the next three weeks and I’ll have completed all of Shakespeare!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Summer of Comedy, History, Tragedy, and… Sonnets?

  1. Cynthia

    Wow!!! This should be interesting… I hope you succeed!

Leave a Reply

