Thoughts of a homeschooler before entering the “real world” (pshaw)

For the entirety of my school aged life I have been schooled at home, by my mom. But my high school years have come to an end. (yay seniors 2011!) It’s now time to start a new chapter. ๐Ÿ™‚

Tomorrow, at precisely 2:00 central time, I shall be taking my very first standardized test. The accuplacer (dun dun duuuuuh).ย  Having never taken anything like it before, (I mean, really, my school has a “trailer” dedicated to only testing??) and not having a clue what to expect, I am somewhat excited and somewhat terrified out of my mind. I keep comforting myself with the fact it’s not a pass/fail test. Only a test to assess what classes I qualify for in the fall. (Fingers crossed!)

As a result of the poor economy and my preference to incur as little debt as possible, I have opted to start my college experience at a local, two-year, community college. My reasoning is as follows; why spend an exorbitant amount of money when i can get the same basic classes locally, for far less? And if i must be honest, I kinda really absolutely love my life right where I am. Why change a good thing?

The thought of having to find my classrooms and having homework I don’t actually need to turn in to my mom is daunting, but I’m ready. And I get a studentย  i.d. for discounts, how fun is that?! harry potter 7.2 here i come!! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Let’s hope this picture is better than the one on my driver’s license (eeep!)

My plan at the end of this adventure is to transfer to a four-year college to complete my degree. Which, as of now, is still undeclared, and I’m okay with that. I figure Ronald Reagan started as an actor and ended up becoming a president, so why do i have to make up my mind right away? ๐Ÿ˜‰

It’s a whole new world ๐Ÿ™‚

2 Comments

Filed under College, Personal

2 responses to “Thoughts of a homeschooler before entering the “real world” (pshaw)

  1. Love you, Sarah. Good luck tomorrow. You will do fine.

Leave a Reply

